Involved Citizens Make Our Democracy Work!


Board of Review

Building Codes


Dog Licensing

 Elections and Ballots

 Hall Rental


 Meeting Calendar

Meeting Minutes
Planning and Zoning
Public Safety
Tax Bill
Tax Bill Lookup


Our Township Board consists of the supervisor, clerk, treasurer, and two trustees.  Each of these officials have specific duties that contribute to effective township governance.

The elected board members of the township adopt an annual budget that determines the scope and character of township services and needs.  They also adopt ordinances to protect the township's health, safety, and welfare and appoint a township assessor.



Bonny T. Miller
6786 Larkspur
Johannesburg, MI  49751
(989) 370-0452

Township Clerk:

Melissa L. Szymanski
7259 M-32 East
Johannesburg, MI  49751
(989) 731-5526



Katherine C. Miller
Office (989) 732-5886
Cell (989) 370-1061
Office Hours: Tuesday 9 - 2
Or by appointment

Township Assessor:

Sally Ann Nowak
P.O. Box 484
Johannesburg, MI  49751
(989) 786-5518
Office Hours: Thursday 9 - 3
(989) 732-5886




Trustees:  Wanda J. Basinski (989) 732-3097 ~ Jacki Keyser (989) 619-0587

Elected township officials also oversee administration of important township functions.

The township supervisor, besides moderating meetings, receives and handles all nuisance matters and ensures that assessments on taxable property conform to state laws.

The township clerk has custody of vital records, accounts for township finances, and oversees elections conducted by the township.

The township treasurer collects all revenues and property taxes for the township, schools, the county, and other tax levying entities.

Trustees act as a 'check and balance' and are actively involved by attending various supplemental meetings, reporting back to the township board.



Chester Township
1737 Big Lake Road
Gaylord, Michigan  49735
Phone: (989) 732-5886
Fax: (989) 705-2044

2001-2016 Chester Township

Visit the Otsego Community Connection web site.